In the Furnace

Based on the story from the book of Daniel:

When my sudden doubt has cast me
in the furnace of my fears,
Son of God, O stand there with me
where the fires rage and sear!
Give me courage in the burning
not to run or douse the flame,
but to take it as an off'ring 
for the glory of your name.

In your kindness and your mercy,
Son of God, deliver me:
Stand beside me in the furnace
'til the flames lie down in sleep.
Let me see you in this wonder
where I'm burned but not consumed.
Though the furnace roars like thunder,
let me sing a hymn to you:

I am standing in your presence
in the crucible of fear,
and you make the flames your temple
when you stand beside me here.
Sun and moon, sing praise forever!
Stars of fire, bless the Lord!
Though the flames reach up to heaven,
Here my peace has been restored!

Fiery furnace by Toros Roslin, Mashtots, 1266 (MS No. 2027, Fol. 14 V.) By Toros Roslin – Scanned from L’Art Armenien, Sirarpie Der Nersessian, Flammarion, 1989, P.130, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=4512447

Leave a comment